UNESCO International Literacy Prizes - Call for Nominations

The call for applications of the 2022 edition of the

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

is now open.

The thematic focus of this year edition is

Transforming literacy learning spaces.

Deadline is on 20 June 2022

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. 506 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.


Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards)

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development. 

Each of the three UNESCO King Sejong prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.


> read more

> Interested BPW get into contact with President's Office